arranged marriage

Standard

Outside of a school, where kids slid up and down these ramps somehow and had lots of fun. I joined them for a bit. I knew some people who were telling me that their teenage daughter was going to marry some older guy. It was a marriage they had arranged for her – they were part of some sort of modern religion that allowed that sort of thing. The guy had apparently showed up in their community and not long after had asked them if he could marry their daughter. He was a sort of tough biker type guy, but friendly and nice.

Daughter was a quiet, pretty girl with long red hair. At one point she asked me what I thought of her ‘husband’. I sensed that she wasn’t sure about the whole thing. I never got a chance to answer her question, as she rushed away to play with some little kid, or something like that.

Leave a Reply

