declaration of space independence from the corporation

Standard

Some sort of impending science fictiony disaster was going to affect a small town and it’s surroundings. I’m thinking lightning-rimmed dimensional gates opening and swallowing up chunks of it, stranding them in space or somewhere else they should not be and cannot exist. I remember observing this phenomenon from the cockpit of a flying vehicle, soaring through skyscrapers of machinery under a purple-red-yellow sky, and being repeatedly denied clearance to land.

It was a small community that existed to sustain a corporation’s interests. Some sort of mining or plant of some type that could only exist there. I think it’s safe to assume that this takes place on some other planet in the future. Anyway, this corporation has very little interest in helping out the town, and in fact is completely silent on the issue of the danger. Working against the corporation’s interest in any way, including taking measures to safeguard against the danger, will incur it’s wrath. The community is forced to declare independence from the corporation in order to protect itself from impending danger.

I had been working on this image for a while, and my inability to finish it to my satisfaction essentially stalled all my progress on this dream journal. Sometimes, giving up is the only way forward. I've included this version here for record purposes only - I do not like it.

I had been working on this image for a while, and my inability to finish it to my satisfaction essentially stalled all my progress on this dream journal. The watercolours I’d painted just didn’t really work or even look very good at all. I’ve included this version here for record purposes only – I do not like it.

A declaration of independence was written. I remember visiting an old man to ask him to sign it, and his suggesting that a line is added to ensure people know that they can still play baseball on a field he owns. I would later visit this field and be confused to learn that it was currently closed but the sign proclaiming it closed was inside the fence that surrounded it, obscuring it from external view, and additionally had been painted onto the ground so that it was permanent.

There was some other cultural thing going on within the town. A subculture of Halloween obsessed poly-amorous people was struggling for acceptance in the local school system.

3 thoughts on “declaration of space independence from the corporation

  1. Wow really nice. Great account of the dream and beautiful image. The watercolor effect is best shown thru the linework, I know what you mean the first attempt the 3 foreground buildings were great but bit too solid rendered it disconnected them from bground. The transparent linework jives everything together in a dreamy way, maybe not as epic as a fully rendered image but the god of draw demands sacrifice!

Leave a Reply

