I am not afraid of terrorists

Standard

Terrorists. I have never been afraid of the threat of terrorism, despite 9/11 and the massive amounts of scaremongering that transpired in the years that followed that event. In those days, I actually felt fairly strange from all the fear I observed in others that I just failed so utterly to comprehend or empathise with. All that said, in this dream I was afraid of terrorists, and I had information about a conspiracy of of them. I had been witness to a terrorist shooting at some sort of school event, but had escaped, and ran all night to the police station where I tried in vain to convince them that there was an even bigger event coming (any conversation starting with “Listen, I know you’re going to think I’m a crazy person, but just hear me out…” is not going to be fruitful). By this point I had forgotten what my information was and was super paranoid I’d be intercepted by terrorist agents in the street, so I avoided everyone.

My quest to find allies brought me to Hank Green, a geeky YouTube personality who’s videos I’ve watched. He seemed to have some official position and had a bunch of teenage nerds on his staff (probably based off the Nerdfighters, something I don’t really know much about but seems likely the inspiration) and I tried to convince him that there was a huge threat looming and he should use his resources to prevent it. The thing is, at this point I didn’t even remember anything so I had literally no way of convincing him. When he refused, I got angry, and smashed a metal paperweight flat with my bare hand. I expected this display of superhuman strength to impress him with my determination, and it did. But determination doesn’t prove you aren’t crazy.

Leave a Reply

