building an origami civilization in the rain forest

Standard

A pretty varied dream. A vary varied dream. Varily, a veriety. I was walking along with friends and suddenly was flying above it all, flying above the telephone lines. As I soared through the air I looked down to see endless fields in all direction, divided by an intermittent and inconsistent network of fences, lit by the setting sun. Often my unconscious has difficulty with scale in these sorts of situations, but the men I saw below appeared quite tiny, but scurried around at great speed. They were in grey uniforms with little caps that suggested to me somehow that they were Chinese, a sort of Chinese agricultural military. They were going to their living area at the end of the day of farming but appeared to move randomly, following each other in circles, getting confused, and the whole thing was a confused cluster with straight and curved lines of people moving off of it.

I visited the factory that they seemed to live in. The factory was a cafeteria carved into a rocky surface, had a sort of cave like feeling. Female workers served food to a line up of men, piece by piece as the line went forward. I realized that that the line of men moving forward was like a living conveyor belt, and each station they would pass would process the food they had, or add to it, in such a way that it was basically an assembly line, and it was building a pizza. A Chinese-style pizza.

If you’re late for the meal, you are noticed and reprimanded. But it is not against the rules to have friends check in for you in the event you are late. This was expected, and was part of how the system worked. If a worker was late for work, his friends were expected to work harder to compensate for this and get his work done too. Basically you had to have dependable friends in order to function effectively in this work society. 

We were finding a box full of interesting paraphernalia for some sort of Mexican or Russian movie involving clowns. It was part of someone’s review of the movie, which was part of a series of reviews being written. The series was about some genre of movies, and there were two kinds of villains in it – Gremlin-like critters who represented Chaos, and these big fat smiling alien clowns that for some reason represented Order.

At the bottom of the box I found a bunch of characters made out of paper. Creatures that were crinkled and folded in such a way, but not like origami, more chaotic. I realized that I could bring these paper creatures to life. So I brought one to life, and they walked around all benevolent. I became worried they would turn all horrific, but they didn’t. So I brought them all to life. Then I realized that I would need to build them a city.

The city was massive, and built out of cardboard. I wanted to put it somewhere where it wouldn’t disturb anything, and where it would not be disturbed. So I hid it in the rainforest, and made it hover so it would not require any clear ground for its base. So there was this massive floating city with creatures made of crinkled paper living in it. It was very carefully engineered to use thermal energy. Somehow it would expand and contract as allowed by its design, in order to regulate heat, to power itself, and to keep itself in the air.

Then it became this story about this husband and wife scientists. He was setting out to build a city of walking paper people, which is what he wanted. But she wanted to have children, and there was this massive miscommunication between them. I saw inside his lab. All kinds of marbled meat-like stripes moving around, all these lines moving around on this weird rippled skin creature made out of strange curved shapes. Something about how the Chozo and the Xenomorphs were created by humans, and my being angry at the franchise’s introduction of that idea, because it was stupid and made no sense. It is stupid. I have seen the ruins of Chozo civilizations, so yeah. Anyway his son comes to visit and I tell him that his son seems quite intelligent, which he did.

I think that basically covers everything.

Leave a Reply

